Doane Stuart Students Attend the 2018 Albany Medical Center Prize Awards Ceremony

Four Doane Stuart students received the rare opportunity on Wednesday to meet the three recipients of one of the nation’s most prestigious science awards. As part of the event, the Doane Stuart students, and a select number of other area students, were able to ask the pioneering scientists about their career and ground-breaking research.

The 2018 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research was awarded to a group of scientists for developing a new way to treat cancer and other diseases. Sharing the prize are: James P. Allison (PhD), of the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Carl June (MD), of the Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania; and, Steven A. Rosenberg (MD, PhD), National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health. The scientists were recognized for their work on what is known as immunotherapy, which has led to innovative new drugs for cancer, HIV, and other diseases, with many already saving and extending the lives of tens of thousands of patients. The three will share a $500,000 award.

The four Doane Stuart students, pictured in the front row, from fifth left, are Isabel Barats ’20, Maya Lautenberg ’20, Olaposi Peters ’19, and Caleb Karkari-Mensah ’19.  Joining the students on Wednesday, were Doane Stuart’s Interim Head of School Sharon Duker, a member of the Albany Medical Board of Directors, shown second row, first on right, and Upper School Biology teacher Dr. David Wells, back row, first on right. The four students received applause from the entire Doane Stuart school when Dr. Wells announced their attendance at Tuesday’s All-School Meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *