Ringing in the New School Year

Welcome back!  The Doane Stuart School kicked off its 42nd year with Convocation on Wednesday, September 6 in the Golub Interfaith Chapel.  This annual Doane Stuart tradition officially opens the year as students, faculty, and staff gather to welcome our new students and faculty, hear from Mrs. Clarke, and meet the student leaders. 

Students and faculty processed to “Ancient of Days” played by Dawson Stone ’18 of East Greenbush.  Assistant Head of School Jenna Barbary opened the ceremony with a poem by Shane L. Koyczan.  Head of School Pam Clarke provided the opening remarks then introduced the new faculty:  Chris Bradt ’05 (Librarian and Writing Tutor), Adam Stewart ’10 (Middle School Math and Science), and Kate Skivington (Lower School STEAM Room Coordinator).  Director of Admission Geoffrey Bowman introduced this year’s 53 new students, and Lower School Director and Kindergarten Teacher Sandy Cassant, Middle School Directors Seamus and Patty Hodgkinson, and Jenna Barbary introduced grades Four, Eight and Twelve, the division leaders.  Assistant Head of School Bill Russell then introduced Sam Smith ’18 of Delanson as the new Student Body President for 2017-18.

Sharon rings bell

At the end of the service, a bell was rung to officially start the school year.   This year we were honored to welcome Mrs. Sharon Duker, President of the Board of Trustees, to ring the traditional Doane Stuart bell and deliver the closing prayer.  Music Instructor Joe Hetko played the recessional.  

More pictures from the first day of school and video of convocation.

first day first day 2 first day 3 first day 4 first day 5