Doane Stuart is the Nation’s only successfully merged Catholic and Protestant school, and it is the region’s leading coeducational Early Childhood through Grade 12 independent school. The environment at Doane Stuart is one of inquiry and academic scholarship. The community is based upon mutual respect and honest communication; it is a place to grow your mind and build your heart.

Doane Stuart was founded in 1975 when two historic Albany schools merged—one Episcopal and one Sacred Heart school. The union of these two schools (St. Agnes School, founded in 1870 and Kenwood Academy, founded in 1852). The resulting school, Doane Stuart makes a statement to the broader community about the importance of teaching students to live together peacefully, respecting the religious traditions of others.

The name Doane Stuart was taken from the First Episcopal Bishop of Albany, The Right Reverend William Croswell Doane, and the Roman Catholic educator, Mother Janet Erskine Stuart, RSCJ.

Doane Stuart Timeline

  • 1852

    The Kenwood Academy was founded in 1852.

  • 1870

    The St. Agnes School was founded in 1870. 

  • 1975

    The Doane Stuart School was founded from the merger of Kenwood Academy and St. Agnes School.

  • 2009

    Doane Stuart moved to its current location at 199 Washington Avenue in Rensselaer. 

  • 2014

    Construction is completed of the $1.3 million 22,000 square foot vegetative green roof.